Charismatic Churches of India, is an Anglican Episcopal Diocese, consecrated and installed by the Anglican Traditions on the 27th of November 2012. The vision of CCI Diocese, even at its inception, was unique and much needed for the time, which was to unite the Independent, Charismatic and Bible-Believing Churches, recognizing the ministry of the ministers and leaders of God and their years of sacrifice, in obedience to the call of God in their lives. This was such a major task that had to be done and get accepted through several levels and mindsets of the Charismatic Christian world and hence the journey continued through its challenges.


The History of the Church of India, can be linked back to the pre-independence era of Christianity in India. The Church of England, formed its missionary wing, Church Missionary Society – CMS on the 12th of April 1799. The CMS initiated its missionary in India in 1814, working and ministering among the needy and poor, helping the untouchables and showing the love and care that the Bible taught us to do. The CMS Missionaries initiated their work in Kerala in 1816, along with the other Orthodox Churches in the State.
Further down the road, the CMS Missionaries rapidly carried out their missionary activities which enabled the Church of England to establish three major dioceses in Calcutta, Bombay, Madras and in 1879, consecrated the fourth Diocese, called the Diocese of Travancore & Cochin.
Even though the Missionary activity was well received in the country, the administration was not, which was when the Indian Struggle for Freedom was strengthened. National Leaders of the country, caused a great wave among the people to unite for freedom from the British oppression and followingly India achieved its independence on the 15th of August 1947.


Foreseeing the attainment of Indian Independence and the return of the British Hierarchy and CMS, The Diocese of Travancore & Cochin, adopted a new constitution in 1928 and a Trust – Travancore and Cochin Diocesan Trust Association – TCDTA was registered. The Diocese was merged with the Church of South India, with a provision to withdraw its membership within 30 years

The church administration which followed, did not adhere to the founded principles and basics of the agreements signed and caused great misunderstandings and commotions in the church, owing to which the clergy and leaders of the diocese of Travancore and Cochin, under Bishop Corefield, resolved for a Separate Administration Movement – SAM, from the Church of South India. After years of hardships and challenges, the missionary churches withdrew their membership from the Church of South India and resolved to continue as the Anglican Church of India, with Rev. V. J. Stephen installed as the Spiritual Administrator on the 5th of May 1965.
This further led to greater persecution and unrecognition for the diocese which had to be dealt with. The Leadership of the Diocese met with Dr. Carl McIntire, president of the International Council of Christian Churches - ICCC, who upon hearing the Faith and Order of the Diocese, invited it to be a part of ICCC. Dr. McIntire paved the way, and Rev. V. J. Stephen was consecrated as the first Bishop of the Renovated Diocese of the Anglican Church of India, constituting mostly of Missionary Christians, on the 5th of May 1966, by The Most Rev. Dr. James Parker Dees, Metropolitan of the Anglican Orthodox Church, NC, USA. Bishop Stephen was later elevated as the Archbishop in 1983. He went beyond the veil in 1986, leaving behind a great and sacred legacy, followed by his Co Adjutor Bishop, The present Metropolitan of the Anglican Church of India, The Most Rev. Dr. Stephen Vattappara.


Charismatic Churches of India & Charismatic Churches International, is also one of the dioceses of the Non-Geographical - International Province of St. Thomas, recognized by the Communion of Evangelical Episcopal Churches (CEEC), USA. Archbishop Reinhard C. Sekar is the Presiding Archbishop for the Province of St. Thomas, which currently oversees churches in India, Srilanka, Malaysia, Australia, UAE, France, South Africa, Bahamas and the USA


Charismatic Churches of India, is therefore in communion with the Anglican Church of India, headed by the Most Rev. Dr. Stephen Vattappara, recognizing its hard and challenging journey in safeguarding the Anglican Faith in the country. Bishop Reinhard C. Sekar, of CCI Diocese, was elevated as an Archbishop by the Metropolitan and also serves as one of the Vice-Chairmen of the Anglican Church of India Synod.
Charismatic Churches of India and Charismatic Churches International is a globally recognized diocese of the Province of St. Thomas - Communion of Evangelical Episcopal Churches (CEEC), for which Archbishop Reinhard serves as the Presiding Archbishop.
Archbishop Reinhard also serves as Archbishop of The Evangelical Episcopal Communion – EEC , headed by Archbishop & Patriarch, The Most Rev. Dr. Russell McClanahan, based in Florida, USA.


Enter in your Email address to be a part of our mailing list and receive regular updates, notifications and announcements



Your generous gifts helps us to take the love of Christ to the ends of the World!